Android Auto for CLA question.
Close
Login to Your Account
Mercedes CLA Forum

Android Auto for CLA question.

This is a discussion on Android Auto for CLA question. within the CLA General Discussion forums, part of the Mercedes-Benz CLA Forum category; So i own a 2016 CLA with the CD20 infotainment without the smartphone integration(at the time only apple was supported so did not need it). ...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Android Auto for CLA question.

  1. #1
    Rookie Pixelhouse's Avatar
    Member #
    10380
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)

    Android Auto for CLA question.

    So i own a 2016 CLA with the CD20 infotainment without the smartphone integration(at the time only apple was supported so did not need it).
    However i would like to use Android Auto now that it's available.

    Does anyone have an idea of what it would cost me to buy the Smartphone intergration and if its all i need for it to work?
    OR would i also need the command online thing?

    Also is this the smartphone integration below?
    i could not find it on my purchase bill but found a similar item online which was named smartphone integration, this i have atm.
    http://i.imgur.com/Ivn387l.jpg

    Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by Pixelhouse; 02-25-2017 at 04:42 AM.

  • #2
    Pro mav238's Avatar
    Member #
    9135
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,525
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pixelhosue View Post
    So i own a 2016 CLA with the CD20 infotainment without the smartphone integration(at the time only apple was supported so did not need it).
    However i would like to use Android Auto now that it's available.

    Does anyone have an idea of what it would cost me to buy the Smartphone intergration and if its all i need for it to work?
    OR would i also need the command online thing?

    Also is this the smartphone integration below?
    i could not find it on my purchase bill but found a similar item online which was named smartphone integration, this i have atm.
    http://i.imgur.com/Ivn387l.jpg

    Thanks in advance!
    You need the command Navi system , audio 20 system alone is not sufficient. I just recently installed the retrofit kit and now have the CarPlay and android auto
    2015 CLA 250 cirrus white sports pkg, premium package, 18" AMG wheels

  • #3
    Rookie Pixelhouse's Avatar
    Member #
    10380
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    60
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mav238 View Post
    You need the command Navi system , audio 20 system alone is not sufficient. I just recently installed the retrofit kit and now have the CarPlay and android auto
    I have the Garmin Map Pilot as installed on it(on a card in its slot). Would that be the version you are talking about? Did you install the kit yourself? If so is it difficult and where did you pruchase it?

    thanks in advance
    Last edited by Pixelhouse; 02-25-2017 at 09:10 AM.

  • Remove Advertisements
    MercedesCLA.org
    Advertisements
     

  • #4
    Pro mav238's Avatar
    Member #
    9135
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,525
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pixelhosue View Post
    I have the Garmin Map Pilot as installed on it(on a card in its slot). Would that be the version you are talking about? Did you install the kit yourself? If so is it difficult and where did you pruchase it?

    thanks in advance
    What you need to do:


    Make sure you have Navigation and Command System NTG5.0. (means you have navigation built-into your car audio/video. Having only Audio 20 means you can only do radio, and no access to a biult-in navigation system).
    Go to the Dealer and request info on an official MB carplay retrofit kit for vehicles that didn't come with it.
    The kit should cost only about USD100-150.
    Labour to install only 1-1.5 hrs. My dealer only charged me $100.00 to install, although it took him more than 5 hours to do it.

    I suggest you have the dealer work it out, as they have to upload new firmware and update the related system software to ensure seamless connection to carplay and Android auto.
    2015 CLA 250 cirrus white sports pkg, premium package, 18" AMG wheels

  • #5
    Pro tmwei396's Avatar
    Member #
    6293
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,895
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Can this be done with the first 2014 models with Multi-Media Package which includes OEM navi and Command system?
    Black CLA250 - Premium, Multimedia, Sport, Panorama roof, Bi-Xenon, Window Tinting (50%/35% Front/Rear), Pedal Commander,
    Daily driver: 2015 Silver Mazda 3s Touring Hatchback, 6-speed manual transmission


  • #6
    jmc
    jmc is online now
    Ninja jmc's Avatar
    Member #
    7493
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    8,876
    Mentioned
    109 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by tmwei396 View Post
    Can this be done with the first 2014 models with Multi-Media Package which includes OEM navi and Command system?
    Doubt it ... our 2014 (NTG4.7) heads could not play mp4 streams from usb nor disc (remember that old thread?)
    Late 2015 and beyond with NTG5.1 can accept mp4 streams via usb so my guess is the signaling specs allows limited app mirroring via usb (android) and lightning (ios) ...
    Though I did see some early 2015 NTG5.0 heads getting some update to accept the new signaling too.

  • #7
    Rookie Black Sunshine's Avatar
    Member #
    15641
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Evanston, IL
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mav238 View Post
    What you need to do:

    Make sure you have Navigation and Command System NTG5.0. (means you have navigation built-into your car audio/video. Having only Audio 20 means you can only do radio, and no access to a biult-in navigation system).
    Go to the Dealer and request info on an official MB carplay retrofit kit for vehicles that didn't come with it.
    The kit should cost only about USD100-150.
    Labour to install only 1-1.5 hrs. My dealer only charged me $100.00 to install, although it took him more than 5 hours to do it.

    I suggest you have the dealer work it out, as they have to upload new firmware and update the related system software to ensure seamless connection to carplay and Android auto.
    Thought I'll share this: I've been looking through these forums about retrofitting the android auto/carplay kit and went to the dealer today (in Cambridge, MA). He said yes, it can be done. They just didn't have the part/software but they put in an order and told me they should have it around Tuesday next week. They said it costs $95 and then there is the service charge for installation etc (the guy said its around $150 or something).

    Will keep you all posted next week about how it goes.

  • #8
    Friend bmc333's Avatar
    Member #
    15617
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    NoVA
    Posts
    139
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    NICE - looking forward to hearing more about this

  • #9
    Pro mav238's Avatar
    Member #
    9135
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,525
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Black Sunshine View Post
    Thought I'll share this: I've been looking through these forums about retrofitting the android auto/carplay kit and went to the dealer today (in Cambridge, MA). He said yes, it can be done. They just didn't have the part/software but they put in an order and told me they should have it around Tuesday next week. They said it costs $95 and then there is the service charge for installation etc (the guy said its around $150 or something).

    Will keep you all posted next week about how it goes.
    I assume you have the navigation COMMAND system right? Folks with only Audio20 will not have this option to retrofit.
    2015 CLA 250 cirrus white sports pkg, premium package, 18" AMG wheels

  • #10
    Rookie Black Sunshine's Avatar
    Member #
    15641
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Evanston, IL
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mav238 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Black Sunshine View Post
    Thought I'll share this: I've been looking through these forums about retrofitting the android auto/carplay kit and went to the dealer today (in Cambridge, MA). He said yes, it can be done. They just didn't have the part/software but they put in an order and told me they should have it around Tuesday next week. They said it costs $95 and then there is the service charge for installation etc (the guy said its around $150 or something).

    Will keep you all posted next week about how it goes.
    I assume you have the navigation COMMAND system right? Folks with only Audio20 will not have this option to retrofit.
    Yes I do.

    An update: so I'm at the dealer and they figured that my car already had the smartphone integration kit (USB module etc) with the same part number as the one shared by another member (dhc6fixer) here in another thread. Though I didn't get the smartphone integration package (my car had just the premium package).

    So the part they ordered and received from Germany is the same as the one already in my car.

    Now the problem is, as others experienced, the dealer or service techs have no idea and this is the first time someone has requested them to do this (Mercedes Benz dealer in Somerville MA).

    What they are missing is the software installation and activation codes. Though I don't know why they didn't ask for it when placing a request for the smartphone kit in the first place.

    Anyways, the service specialist said they are going to ask Mercedes Germany for the software installation codes and then they just need to code it in the "vdoc" of something (Sorry I'm not a car technical expert) and activate the software and integrate the smartphone feature. They said they don't even need to install the new module because it's the same as the one I already have.

    They want me to bring the car in once they have the codes which they are going to request right away from Mercedes Germany. They're going to give me an update tomorrow on the status.

    I'll keep you all posted with any updates.

  • Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

    Sponsored Links

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  

    Similar Threads

    1. Cellphone integration? Similar to Apple and Android Auto?
      By Spartacus in forum CLA General Discussion
      Replies: 28
      Last Post: 01-31-2017, 09:17 AM
    2. Comand navigation vs Google maps (apple carplay or Android auto)
      By MTL CLA45 in forum CLA General Discussion
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 08-24-2016, 05:40 AM
    3. Does 2016 CLA have Android Auto
      By hemant in forum Mercedes CLA Australia
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 06-24-2016, 04:25 PM
    4. Hyundai Releases DIY Android Auto Upgrade for Sonato Owners
      By Yoshi in forum Off-Topic Discussion
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 07-29-2015, 02:09 PM
    5. Android Auto
      By CLA45S in forum Mercedes CLA Australia
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 04-26-2015, 06:52 AM

    Search tags for this page

    android auto cla
    ,
    android auto cla retrofit
    ,

    android auto mercedes cla

    ,
    cla 2017 android auto
    ,
    cla 250 2014 android auto
    ,
    cla android auto
    ,
    cla45 amg android auto
    ,
    does cla 250 support android auto
    ,
    mercedes cla android auto
    ,

    retrofit cla 250 2014 ntg5

    Click on a term to search for related topics.
    About Us
    We are a community dedicated to the all new Mercedes-Benz CLA & CLA45 AMG. We offer Benz CLA Pictures, Aftermarket Accessory discussion, Questions and Answers and much more from CLA Owners across the world. Thank you for visiting the best CLA Forum on the Internet.
    Join us
    Register
    If you woud like to join our community simply click the following registration link: Register @ MercedesCLA.org