Mercedes CLA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Mercedes & thus this forum, so please bear with me as I describe issue.

(I am somewhat of DIYer as I have 2003 BMW Z4 2.5 and do mechanical & some electrical work on it , but usually leave the complicated electrical to my "indy" garage.)

1.) Is this a W205 design or a W176? I have seen both mentioned in forums on the CLA250.
2.) I bought the car used in June 2019 from folks I trust w/ only 17,500 miles. It has the "sport package" w/ the three (3) available settings, E/S/M. FYI, my wife drives the car 95% of the time (E), a round trip to work @ 24 mi / day. and an occasional run to Austin @ 360 mi. round trip. Car presently has 26,500 miles.
3.) Sunday night 3/22 put in the garage with no plans to drive for a few days. Thursday, 3/26, started (E trans. setting) car w/ foot on brake to put in reverse. The display showed the car shifted into "R," but car would not move. Gave it some gas and it was like I was standing on the brake. Followed same process to put into "D" and same result. I then put into "N" and the car will still not move.

A) Have any of you had similar experiences? If so, what was the overall problem and resolution.
B)
C) If the solution did not involve solving the problem in the location where the car was parked, how was it moved to be engaged by a towing services, etc.
D) Might this be something covered under the "warranty" that may still apply to the transmission due to such low mileage? I am unaware of the warranties on the different components of the car, so any knowledge / experience you all have to share about any warranty would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your contributions and suggestions for the repair.

·
Registered
2020 CLA250, White
61 Posts