Mercedes CLA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So i own a 2016 CLA with the CD20 infotainment without the smartphone integration(at the time only apple was supported so did not need it).
However i would like to use Android Auto now that it's available.

Does anyone have an idea of what it would cost me to buy the Smartphone intergration and if its all i need for it to work?
OR would i also need the command online thing?

Also is this the smartphone integration below?
i could not find it on my purchase bill but found a similar item online which was named smartphone integration, this i have atm.
http://i.imgur.com/Ivn387l.jpg

Thanks in advance!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,539 Posts
So i own a 2016 CLA with the CD20 infotainment without the smartphone integration(at the time only apple was supported so did not need it).
However i would like to use Android Auto now that it's available.

Does anyone have an idea of what it would cost me to buy the Smartphone intergration and if its all i need for it to work?
OR would i also need the command online thing?

Also is this the smartphone integration below?
i could not find it on my purchase bill but found a similar item online which was named smartphone integration, this i have atm.
http://i.imgur.com/Ivn387l.jpg

Thanks in advance!
You need the command Navi system , audio 20 system alone is not sufficient. I just recently installed the retrofit kit and now have the CarPlay and android auto
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
You need the command Navi system , audio 20 system alone is not sufficient. I just recently installed the retrofit kit and now have the CarPlay and android auto
I have the Garmin Map Pilot as installed on it(on a card in its slot). Would that be the version you are talking about? Did you install the kit yourself? If so is it difficult and where did you pruchase it?

thanks in advance
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,539 Posts
I have the Garmin Map Pilot as installed on it(on a card in its slot). Would that be the version you are talking about? Did you install the kit yourself? If so is it difficult and where did you pruchase it?

thanks in advance
What you need to do:


Make sure you have Navigation and Command System NTG5.0. (means you have navigation built-into your car audio/video. Having only Audio 20 means you can only do radio, and no access to a biult-in navigation system).
Go to the Dealer and request info on an official MB carplay retrofit kit for vehicles that didn't come with it.
The kit should cost only about USD100-150.
Labour to install only 1-1.5 hrs. My dealer only charged me $100.00 to install, although it took him more than 5 hours to do it.

I suggest you have the dealer work it out, as they have to upload new firmware and update the related system software to ensure seamless connection to carplay and Android auto.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,895 Posts
Can this be done with the first 2014 models with Multi-Media Package which includes OEM navi and Command system?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,702 Posts
Can this be done with the first 2014 models with Multi-Media Package which includes OEM navi and Command system?
Doubt it ... our 2014 (NTG4.7) heads could not play mp4 streams from usb nor disc (remember that old thread?)
Late 2015 and beyond with NTG5.1 can accept mp4 streams via usb so my guess is the signaling specs allows limited app mirroring via usb (android) and lightning (ios) ...
Though I did see some early 2015 NTG5.0 heads getting some update to accept the new signaling too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
What you need to do:

Make sure you have Navigation and Command System NTG5.0. (means you have navigation built-into your car audio/video. Having only Audio 20 means you can only do radio, and no access to a biult-in navigation system).
Go to the Dealer and request info on an official MB carplay retrofit kit for vehicles that didn't come with it.
The kit should cost only about USD100-150.
Labour to install only 1-1.5 hrs. My dealer only charged me $100.00 to install, although it took him more than 5 hours to do it.

I suggest you have the dealer work it out, as they have to upload new firmware and update the related system software to ensure seamless connection to carplay and Android auto.
Thought I'll share this: I've been looking through these forums about retrofitting the android auto/carplay kit and went to the dealer today (in Cambridge, MA). He said yes, it can be done. They just didn't have the part/software but they put in an order and told me they should have it around Tuesday next week. They said it costs $95 and then there is the service charge for installation etc (the guy said its around $150 or something).

Will keep you all posted next week about how it goes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,539 Posts
Thought I'll share this: I've been looking through these forums about retrofitting the android auto/carplay kit and went to the dealer today (in Cambridge, MA). He said yes, it can be done. They just didn't have the part/software but they put in an order and told me they should have it around Tuesday next week. They said it costs $95 and then there is the service charge for installation etc (the guy said its around $150 or something).

Will keep you all posted next week about how it goes.
I assume you have the navigation COMMAND system right? Folks with only Audio20 will not have this option to retrofit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
Thought I'll share this: I've been looking through these forums about retrofitting the android auto/carplay kit and went to the dealer today (in Cambridge, MA). He said yes, it can be done. They just didn't have the part/software but they put in an order and told me they should have it around Tuesday next week. They said it costs $95 and then there is the service charge for installation etc (the guy said its around $150 or something).

Will keep you all posted next week about how it goes.
I assume you have the navigation COMMAND system right? Folks with only Audio20 will not have this option to retrofit.
Yes I do.

An update: so I'm at the dealer and they figured that my car already had the smartphone integration kit (USB module etc) with the same part number as the one shared by another member (dhc6fixer) here in another thread. Though I didn't get the smartphone integration package (my car had just the premium package).

So the part they ordered and received from Germany is the same as the one already in my car.

Now the problem is, as others experienced, the dealer or service techs have no idea and this is the first time someone has requested them to do this (Mercedes Benz dealer in Somerville MA).

What they are missing is the software installation and activation codes. Though I don't know why they didn't ask for it when placing a request for the smartphone kit in the first place.

Anyways, the service specialist said they are going to ask Mercedes Germany for the software installation codes and then they just need to code it in the "vdoc" of something (Sorry I'm not a car technical expert) and activate the software and integrate the smartphone feature. They said they don't even need to install the new module because it's the same as the one I already have.

They want me to bring the car in once they have the codes which they are going to request right away from Mercedes Germany. They're going to give me an update tomorrow on the status.

I'll keep you all posted with any updates.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,475 Posts
so for android auto to work all we need to do is ask to pay for the updated software now? no more need for a module or anything? Sorry just want to clarify.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,539 Posts
so for android auto to work all we need to do is ask to pay for the updated software now? no more need for a module or anything? Sorry just want to clarify.
It really depends on the MY of your CLA. Mine is a July 2015, it does not have the required USB connector module, and the retrofit kit is required.

Other cars , probably later MY, might already come with the right USB connector module.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
so for android auto to work all we need to do is ask to pay for the updated software now? no more need for a module or anything? Sorry just want to clarify.
It really depends on the MY of your CLA. Mine is a July 2015, it does not have the required USB connector module, and the retrofit kit is required.

Other cars , probably later MY, might already come with the right USB connector module.
Yes, I guess I agree with mav238.

Here is what happened: When the service specialist took my car and we sat down for a briefing before starting to work on it, I told him how I wanted this smartphone integration done and how the previous parts/accessories rep told me they had to order the retrofit kit.

When we went to the car, we realized that my car already had that module in place (and I didn't realize it because I thought it was just couple of USB hubs). Then I noticed the USB 2 port with the image of the smartphone and car dash screen.

Then the service tech told me the part which was received from Germany is the same as the one in my car and we don't need to install the new one anymore. They then wanted to confirm - so they took out the USB module in my car and found that it had the same part number as the one which was ordered and received (and its the same part number as what another user, DHC6fixer, posted in the other thread).

That's when we realized (including the service specialists, service advisor, parts/accessories rep) that these newer models (mine is a 2016) probably already came with this USB module but lacking the software and codes if one is purchasing a car without the smartphone integration (and/or navigation?) package. Newer models meaning, they speculated, the models after late 2015... they said the ones before they haven't seen such a USB kit/module in the console. It was just standard USB ports.

So I guess any more from MY16 and after probably already comes with the smartphone kit fitted in (just the hardware part with the USB ports). If one gets the car without the smartphone integration package, all that needs to be done is for the dealer to get the software installation codes from Mercedes (Germany) to install and integrate the feature and we're good to go with either Carplay or Android Auto.

Just like the others here in the forum, as I already mentioned, my service specialist at the dealer was also completely new to this but he said he knows how to get it working/install and integrate the software once he gets the codes. He just has not had this experience of activating the software post-sales... guess this is a first time for a lot of the dealers.

He did finally say this: if I can get the software installation working fine and the integration with the phone, then we don't even need to swap your module because it is the same - meaning one would be just paying for the service charge (and not for the module or software or anything) as fixed by the dealer (they said it takes an hour or two max).

I should be hearing from the dealer/service specialist tomorrow hopefully. Will get back with any new info. Cheers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
Update:

Got a call from the dealer saying they got the software and installation codes from Mercedes-Benz Germany. I will fixed an appointment for Monday morning to get this installed.

Another note: they also got confirmation from Mercedes-Benz Germany that there is no need to swap the hardware (USB module in the console). My car (2016) has exactly the same already as what they ship out to people who want this retrofit kit. Meaning these models, at least from 2016 (possibly from late 2015), already ship with the hardware irrespective of whether the customer buys the smartphone integration package or not, I guess. For those interested, just look for the USB 2 port and see if it has the symbol of a smartphone and the front dash screen. Then all you need is the dealer to fix you up with the only cost being the hourly rate for the service. Cheers.

Next update on Monday.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
Sorry for the delayed update, everyone.

Actually it didn't work (and they figured the car actually doesn't have the COMAND, it has only Audio 20). This was just weird because in the initial visits/checks before ordering the stuff from Mercedes, Germany it was found that the car did have COMAND. But then it didn't.. like it disappeared. The hardware (USB ports in the center console) were still there and when I asked why was that hardware in place if the COMAND was not there/not supposed to be there, they said its standard in every CLA 250 4Matic (is that true?). Anyways, so they said those USB ports can be used for connecting the phone and utilizing those few functions that work through USB (like playing music files - though not streaming music like spotify which work only through bluetooth).

After extensive checks they figured there is no COMAND and only Audio 20 (and when I asked how come it was there in the initial visits based on which the parts order was made to Germany, they had no clue/no response). Of course, I knew the car needs to have Audio 20 with COMAND for this retrofit to work but then this whole process was initiated because there was COMAND which seems to have mysteriously disappeared when the actual installation was supposed to be done.

Oh well.. sticking with Bluetooth and Spotify and Google Maps on the phone!

(Ps,. Can't complain though because the car is absolutely beautiful to drive. Just came back from a weekend trip to NYC and it was a lovely, smooth drive.. hit a max of 110 mph on an empty stretch of I-84.. and got a combined (city/highway) 33.1 mpg for the whole trip which I think is pretty fantastic).
 
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
Top