Mercedes CLA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I hope everyone is doing well.

My eco start/stop recently stopped working (no longer turning green) and I sent my car to the dealership. They told me the auxiliary battery needed replacement. However they quoted me quite expensive: $220 for the auxiliary battery and $600 for the main battery. Although the main battery was not needed to be replaced, but I asked anyway for future reference. My car is no longer on warranty, the dealership here only offers 2 years or 50 000km, sadface.

To more experienced owners in this forum. I have few questions- If I were to replace the batteries outside the dealership, can I replace them directly like any regular car or does CLA45 needs extra tweaking before hand? I'm just afraid or paranoid they might mess the electronic system. Sorry this is my first time owning a new car hehe.

Thanks!

·
Registered
142 Posts
Also my eco start/stop recently stopped working, only the main battery is replaced in warranty (the 23e month) and the system is working properly at the moment...
don't want to buy a new battery each 2 years :icon_eek:

·
Registered
12,114 Posts
1 - there are now several threads on this issue ... consider avoiding unnecessary battery drains (eg make sure everything is OFF before ignition AND shutdown) and use a good battery maintainer when parked at home if at all possible.
2 - one can simply replace the aux battery with a similar sized unit (12AH or slightly better) ... though the jury is still out if subsequent system recode is necessary ... unless a 12V bypass is used during replacement (to cheat the system) *BUT* the tiniest mishap could cause a short and there goes the car, period.

·
Registered
1,296 Posts
WIll the car run without the recode, and is it significantly cheaper for the dealer to only do a recode while Eshan replaces the battery on his own?

·
Registered
12,114 Posts