Mercedes CLA Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2014 CLA 250 4matic
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks, so I just installed a spacer and intake and now I have a check engine light on. Mind you I have no mechanic experience. I installed the spacer a few days ago, but I don't recall seeing the light come on. After installing the intake yesterday, when I was driving today I noticed it on. I'm assuming if I installed these pieces correctly, everything should be fine. My first instinct is to just remove everything, see that the light turns off, and let a professional do it, but I want to ensure there's nothing simple I'm missing, e.g. resetting the ECU. I drove for about 10 minutes last night after installing the intake, getting up to about 80 mph, so I think that's enough time to "cycle" the car (or whatever it's called).

I tried my best to ensure the tubing is tight around the air inlets, but it's kind of difficult to perfect it. Would something like this cause an issue? As in, if not enough air was making it to the turbo. What's the likelihood a spacer would cause the light to come on? I'm going to try and purchase an OBD scanner to read the codes, but I'm broke as hell right now. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,432 Posts
Welcome to the CLA Forum @RyanB:)
Agree with your approach, checking for codes is always the best 1st step.
AutoZone will do it for free, ( call ahead due to COVID ), and maybe the issue is unrelated to the work you performed.

·
Registered
2014 CLA 250 4matic
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome to the CLA Forum @RyanB:)
Agree with your approach, checking for codes is always the best 1st step.
AutoZone will do it for free, ( call ahead due to COVID ), and maybe the issue is unrelated to the work you performed.
Did not know that. Will do. Thanks. I'll update this thread with my findings.

·
Registered
2014 CLA 250 4matic
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5