1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2

·
Registered
20 Posts
Very interesting! :) I'm planning to keep my valve open all the time. Will probably do it by using a dummy to plug the connector into.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I will be updating this post soon. I am still learning a few things about the performance exhaust and sport exhaust. Like, the exhaust valve is not unique to the U21 option and I will also give more info on the ‘sound generator’.

·
Registered
20 Posts
I will be updating this post soon. I am still learning a few things about the performance exhaust and sport exhaust. Like, the exhaust valve is not unique to the U21 option and I will also give more info on the ‘sound generator’.
Yes, I also wonder how we get this nice sound when the valve button is turned on. The harder we go on the throttle the nicer the sound. It should be the bypass trough the valve section creating this magnificent sound.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
Here's what I've learned so far:
  • The exhaust system components for all AMG's in the same model year are identical. For example, a 2016 CLA45 amg without the U21 Performance exhaust is identical to a 2016 CLA45 amg with the U21 option. The only physical difference between the two cars is the sound generator which is connected to the air intake system and pumps out 'sounds' into the passenger cabin.
  • The sound generator is mechanical in nature but there is a sound generator valve located right next to the generator which opens and closes to allow sounds into the passenger cabin.
  • The sound generator, hosing and valve are located between the engine and firewall so it would be very difficult to add the U21 option to a car without it. Also, the car would need to be reprogrammed to use the sound generator and would also probably need a new wiring harness