Mercedes CLA Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would purchase the CLA for longterm usage so I was wondering if it was worth waiting an additional year for them to get the majority of the kinks worked out. I'm sure any issues would be taken care of through recalls and service bulletins but it would be better to not always have to take the vehicle in for service. Also would a second year CLA would be assembled better since the workers would be more familiar with the vehicle and the procedures. I have no knowledge on current automobile manufacturing procedures so I'm not sure if worker experience even comes into question when assembling a vehicle.

·
Registered
82 Posts
with any other car manufacturer, I would say to possibly wait a year....but were not talking about any old car builder. i have no hesitation about buying a first year production from a reputable manufacturer such as mercedes....Best of luck

·
Registered
730 Posts
Int'l market...

The USDM '14 CLA would've presumably been in other markets already as a CLA, and definitely as an A-Class. Assuming those offerings didn't gave any noted shortcomings, we all should be in a relatively good situation as early adopters. At times, a new model doesn't have such real-world time prior to being offered here.

·
Registered
256 Posts
I agree with Osiris ... the US CLA is a US market version of the A-Class that has been produced for the European markets for several years. The only difference is really the body and maybe a few other parts. The primary operating systems have been mated and been working together in other models in markets outside the US. But I would not have an issue with a first production year model like the CLA.

·
Registered
495 Posts